It’s okay to say “No”

There was a day not all that long ago where I came home and I was literally crying. I was in a job where I was told to choose between my family and my job. Tears were streaming down my face, I simply couldn’t take it any more. I thought to myself that every time I say ‘yes’ to more work, I’m saying ‘no’ to my family.

Oh, friends. I’m a workaholic and had gotten into the terrible habit of saying yes to everything. Yes to every request, every opportunity. My desire to please people turned into an unhealthy inability to say no. This escalated and made me a trap for those to walk all over me.

“No” is an incredibly empowering word if you allow it to be. Saying no allows you to say yes to the things that truly matter in your life. We don’t need more hours in the day. We need to be more dedicated to prioritizing, more diligent in protecting those hours that we reserve for our friends and family. When overwhelm begins to weigh on you… I want you to remember that you are not alone. As a creative entrepreneur myself, I know how hard it is.

So I’m here to remind you of the word “no” so you can have “yes” to life. I’m not here to tell you to quit your job but remind you to prioritize and seek what matters most.


Photo by my friend Amanda over at Willow Photo and Design

Leave a Reply

